Padma Awards 2023: Raveena Tandon and RRR’s music composer MM Keeravani honoured with the Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award; tabla maestro Zakir Hussain receives Padma Vibhushan


Raveena Tandon has been awarded the Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award of the Republic of India, for her contribution to Indian cinema over the last three decades. Along with the actress RRR’s music director MM Keeravani, and late businessman and producer Rakesh Jhunjhunwala have also been honoured with Padma Shri. Singer Suman Kalyanpur who has been working since the year 1954 and known for several songs in movies like Noor Jahan, Pakeezah, Dil Ek Mandir will be awarded a Padma Shri. Tabla maestro Zakir Hussain will be honoured with the second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan.

Here is the full list of people who won the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awards.

RECOMMENDED READ: ‘I’m like a proud father, very grateful for this brainchild,’ says RRR’s music composer MM Keeravani as Naatu Naatu song bags Oscars 2023 nomination 

Sharing her excitement at being bestowed with the honour of Padma Shri, Raveena said: “It is always a wonderful feeling to have one’s work appreciated and honoured by one’s country. Such appreciation may, at first glance, feel like the reward that signifies the culmination of my journey, it is anything but; for this will spur me on to bigger and greater things in the field that I so love. This is a special day. My country has honoured me. I feel that I belong. Thank you, India! I owe this to my father (Ravi Tandon)".

Late Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav has been honoured with a posthumous Padma Vibhushan. Industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla has been honoured with the third highest civilian award, the Padma Bhushan. Singer Vani Jairam receives Padma Bhushan in the field of art and Sudha Murty gets it for social work. President Droupadi Murmu approved 106 names for the prestigious Padma Awards this year.

(Source: PIB/Agencies)