'Best performance of the year,' say Anurag Kashyap, Manoj Bajpayee and Vicky Kaushal cheering for Jaideep Ahlawat's 'Paatal Lok'


Amazon Prime Video's recently released web series Paatal Lok took the OTT platform by storm with its gritty, dark and realistic content. Starring Jaideep Ahlawat, Abhishek Banerjee and Neeraj Kabi in the lead roles, the Anushka Sharma produced show is hailed as the year's best work. Not just the audience, but who's who of Bollywood has been showered Paatal Lok with endless appreciation. Anurag Kashyap, on his Twitter handle, admired Paatal Lok and called it a world-class investigative thriller.

" “” review , , - , , ," Anurag wrote.


Recommended Read: Mumbai Police sheds light on 'fake Whatsapp messages' but with Jaideep Ahlawat's 'Paatal Lok' connection

Manoj Bajpayee was all praises for the show and his tweet is proof. "A finely scripted, crafted, photographed, directed, edited, and performed so immaculately series PATAL LOK!!! My congratulations to all the actors makers and directors #prosit and #avinasharun.Jaideep Abhishek Neeraj Gul Vipin Loveleen. Bahut seekha!! Waah!!"


Vicky Kaushal, who was Jaideep's co-star in Raazi, was immensely impressed by the show and how mesmerisingly the latter played Hathiram's character. Vicky, on his Instagram stories, wrote, "Best performance of the year!!! @jaideepahlawat #paatallok Also congratulations @anushkasharma @avinasharun24fps and team for a brilliant show!"

Nitesh Tiwari, on his Twitter account, wrote, ''Paatal Lok' is a terrific watch. Stunningly made and brilliantly written. Kudos to the entire team. And Jaideep Ahlawat, you are sublime!!!'

Paatal Lok is created by Sudip Sharma and directed by Avinash Arun and Prosit Roy. Anushka Sharma, along with her brother Karnesh Sharma has produced it under their home banner named Clean Slate Films. The 9-episode series is currently streaming on Amazon Prime Video from May 15. The show, apart from Jaideep, Abhishek and Neeraj features Gul Panag, Vipin Sharma, Swastika Mukherjee, Rajesh Sharma, Ankur Vikal, Niharika Lyra Dutta, Ishwak Singh and Jagjit Sandhu. 

(Source: Instagram/Twitter)