Oscars 2023: RRR’s Naatu Naatu composer MM Keeravani breaks into a song while accepting Best Original Song Award at 95th Academy Awards with lyricist Chandrabose; PM Modi sends congratulations


SS Rajamouli directed RRR created Oscars history by clinching the Best Original Song Award for its dance anthem Naatu Naatu. The song has become a rage not only in India but across the world. Music composer MM Keeravani and lyricist Chandrabose were euphoric at their historic win as they accepted the coveted golden statuette. MM Keeravani broke into a song that left everyone at the Dolby Theatre amused and mesmerized as he accepted his award and called the song and RRR the pride of every Indian. SS Rajamouli, Jr NTR, Ram Charan and the entire team of RRR attended the 95th Academy Awards. Naatu Naatu was performed live at the award ceremony with singers Rahul Sipligunj and Kaala Bhairava singing it on stage.

MM Keeravaani and lyricist Chandrabose won the Academy Award for Naatu Naatu and while accepting the award, the former broke into a song as he accepted the honour. He said, "Thank you Academy. I grew up listening to The Carpenters and now here I am with the Oscars.”

RECOMMENDED READ: Oscars 2023: From Michelle Yeoh’s Best Actress and Everything Everywhere All At Once sweeping the trophies, RRR’s Naatu Naatu and Guneet Monga’s The Elephant Whisperer’s win – complete winners list

He then sang a song with the lyrics, "There was only one wish on my mind. So was Rajamouli and my family. RRR has to win. Pride of every Indian and must put me on top of the world." He ended his speech by saying, "Thank you Kartikeya for making this possible."

After winning the award, Chandrabose spoke about the challenges of writing the song in Telugu language which has 56 letters. He said, “For people who know Telugu they will appreciate the meaning behind the words but for non-Telugu speakers, like you all who are loving the song, it is the music that has made this possible.”

RRR’s Naatu Naatu win was celebrated by PM Narendra Modi and Venkaiah Naidu who congratulated the team on social media. 

(Source: Twitter)